AR double feeding

The place for general discussion about guns, gun (and gun parts) technology discussion, gun reviews, and gun specific range reports; and shooting, training, techniques, reviews and reports.
Precision

AR double feeding

Post by Precision »

A friend of mine has a 5.56 caliber AR pistol with a 10.5" barrel. It goes bang, but with some frequency fails to eject the spent brass, then attempts to feed that piece of brass and a new round at the same time. The result is damage to the new round and a double feed jam. As you can imagine, this creates a hell of a mess.

He is also having the same issue with a 308 caliber full sized Ar-10.

I have very little experience with the AR-10 platform, but I am thinking the Ar-15 is too lite of a buffer and the recoil is hammering the bolt back too fast and it is rebounding back before and ejection can occur. Thus a stiffer spring or heavier buffer would be the cure.

Is this good thinking or is something else the likely cause?
"Those who hammer their guns into plows will plow for those who do not." ~Thomas Jefferson
My little part of the blogosphere. http://blogletitburn.wordpress.com/
Weetabix

Re: AR double feeding

Post by Weetabix »

I haven't messed with that much, but I was thinking buffer spring, too. I wonder if it's too heavy, so the bolt doesn't get far enough back to eject the spent case?

Or, maybe the buffer is too heavy, so it's moving to slowly to get all the way back?

I'd speculate that there's less pressure in a shorter barrel to move the BCG back as far or as hard?
Note to self: start reading sig lines. They're actually quite amusing. :D
Netpackrat

Post by Netpackrat »

My 300blk SBR did something similar and the solution was to put an o-ring under the extractor.
Cognosce teipsum et disce pati

"People come and go in our lives, especially the online ones. Some leave a fond memory, and some a bad taste." -Aesop
Combat Controller
Site Admin

Post by Combat Controller »