Snow plow recommendations?

If it doesnt fit anywhere else but you still want to share, this is the place
Vonz90

Snow plow recommendations?

Post by Vonz90 »

So I am probably going to get one soonish. Just for my driveway, but it is about 1/4 mile long and mostly gravel except for the last 25 yards yo the garage, which is concrete. Not sure if I will put it on my FJ or may get a beater truck for it.

Any thoughts?

I have never used one before so simple and cheap are important as well as easy removal if I put it on my FJ (or get something else as a daily driver and mount to that).
BDK

Re: Snow plow recommendations?

Post by BDK »

Do you have/need a small tractor for any reason? We always used a bucket on a small tractor - made for a more useful tool.
g-man

Post by g-man »

Dad had an old full-size Blazer with a blade setup on the front until he got his tractor. It was a bit colder sitting on the tractor, but he didn’t have to wait for the heater to get up to temp so he could see, and the tractor had much better traction than the truck, so he got done faster. That was just my observations, I can ask about relative costs and see what he said. An additional plus for the tractor is the ability to run other stuff, like he log splitter, and later, the 4’ wide bush-hog mower setup.
Igitur qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum
Netpackrat

Post by Netpackrat »

BDK wrote: Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:35 pm Do you have/need a small tractor for any reason? We always used a bucket on a small tractor - made for a more useful tool.
Wow, putting a plow on a vehicle that is actually designed for it. That’s crazy talk.
Cognosce teipsum et disce pati

"People come and go in our lives, especially the online ones. Some leave a fond memory, and some a bad taste." -Aesop
evan price

Post by evan price »

Ive got a woods blade on my diesel Mitsubishi tractor.
Plus I can mow with it.
Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc

http://ohioccwforums.org/