Fishing with a Baitcasting Rig

Discussions about our lives, families, jobs... things may get a little personal
MarkD

Fishing with a Baitcasting Rig

Post by MarkD »

As I've mentioned before, I've been fishing now for close to 40 years (not bad for a 45 year old huh?), and I've always fished with a spinning rod and reel. I've noticed that most serious bass fishermen use a baitcasting reel, and have wondered if that's something I ought to add to my "arsenal". I've been eyeballing some of the cheaper combos at Cabelas and was hoping for some advice here.

First, let's get the heresy (if not blasphemy) out of the way: I'm a FIRM believer that the fish doesn't give a crap what's on YOUR end of the line, as long as what he sees looks good he'll bite on it. As long as the stuff on your end (especially you) is up to the task you've got a good chance of landing the fish.

So, what are the advantages to a baitcasting rig over a spinning rig? I know the disadvantage is danger of backlash, are there others?

Can anyone recommend a decent, modestly priced (say under $100) rod and reel combo? It'll be used for pond fishing, generally from the shore. It won't see hard use (I work too hard to go fishing more than once a week or so in the summertime), and it'll be used in conjunction with a couple spinning combos (ultralight and medium). Years of using spinning reels have taught me to hold the rod in my right (dominant) hand and turn the crank with my left, I'd like to use a baitcaster the same way. I also prefer a rod that breaks into 3-foot-ish pieces (assuming a rod around 6 feet long) for convenience, I don't believe two-piece rods lose much strength over one-piece and they're a lot easier to fit in the trunk.
Fivetoes

Re: Fishing with a Baitcasting Rig

Post by Fivetoes »