Reloading woes

The place to discuss ammunition, reloading, ballistics, loads, and chamberings.
JAG2955

Reloading woes

Post by JAG2955 »

I realized that I have about 1 1/2 5-gallon buckets full of brass.

*Sigh*

So I decided to sit down at my press and bang out a hundred .223 nicely loaded cartridges. I picked out 110 or so commercial cases that I had cleaned previously, and stuck in an ammo can for my trip to Texas.

I set up my Lee turret press
1. Lube and deprime-easy
2. Trim-I began to hate my life, guns, and everything around me.
3. Prime-I started to wish violence on the Lee family. My small primer arm began to misfeed, dropping primers, and having one of the mysterious springs inside disconnect. I got 30 of them done, and had to restrain myself from taking my rage out on the primer arm. I fixed it three times before I gave up. I know that with a simple email I could get another one. I don't know if it's worth it.
4. Fill-I have a RCBS Powder Master. Easy.
5. Seat bullets-easy, and done.
6. Crimp-my .223 crimp die should get here today. I don't know how I lasted so long without it. Oh yeah, rifle reloading on this damn turret press is infuriating, so mostly it doesn't get done.

Should I step up to a progressive? I've been looking at Hornady's Lock-n-Load with envy recently. Then I discovered that you can fit a Dillon trim die into it, and basically set up a two pass system where you can take once-fired brass through once, to lube, deprime, trim, and flare, then reset for priming, filling, seating, and crimping.

I have so much once-fired stuff, I really need to find a better way to trim. I've looked at the Giraud trimmer, but I don't know if I'm willing to pay the price for it.
PawPaw

Re: Reloading woes

Post by PawPaw »

If you're going to step up to progressive, spend the extra few dollars and get a Dillon.

Spend it once, and forget about it.
Dennis Dezendorf
PawPaw's House
randy

Post by randy »