F111 Belly Landing

A place to talk about all things military, paramilitary, tactical, strategic, and logistical.
Darrell

F111 Belly Landing

Post by Darrell »

Eppur si muove--Galileo
Yogimus

Re: F111 Belly Landing

Post by Yogimus »

Hope he signed his 1800.
Rod

Post by Rod »

I want to fly with that nav. Of course I probably forgot what to do with her.
one can be a Democrat, or one can choose to be an American.
Good acting requires an imagination; reality requires a person not getting lost in their imagination.
"It's better to have a gun if you need it". Felix's opthamologist
Yogimus

Post by Yogimus »

Don't worry, she'll navigate for you.
Flintlock Tom

Post by Flintlock Tom »

That's interesting.
In 1973-74 I was a Navy photographer on NAS Miramar in San Diego. An F-14 Tomcat from one of the squadrons lost a main wheel on take-off. The tower scrambled the crash trucks including two photographers, one with a still-camera and one (me) with a 16mm movie camera.
The Tomcat landed with the nose wheel and the one main wheel down. The left (port) wheel pylon was worn down almost to the fuselage, but all else was in tact.
I shot some good footage of the whole landing from the grass beside the runway.
This brought back some good memories.
If time, chance and random process can produce a platypus why not an ammo tree?
SoupOrMan

Post by SoupOrMan »

Ah, C-models. The only production model on which I never worked. The D-model was the closest I got to it, and then all we did with those was cannibalize parts. If only we could have swapped out the translating cowls for blow-in doors my life would have been made easier...
Remember, folks, you can't spell "douche" without "Che."

“PET PARENTS?” You’re not a “pet parent.” You’re a pet owner. Unless you’ve committed an unnatural act that succeeded in spite of biology. - Glenn Reynolds
Darrell

Post by Darrell »