Beginners Fly-Fishing Gear

If it doesnt fit anywhere else but you still want to share, this is the place
MarkD

Beginners Fly-Fishing Gear

Post by MarkD »

I've been fishing for nearly 40 years, everything from Sunnies in a pond to Stripers off the surf, but I've avoiding trying fly-fishing for fear of getting hooked (pun intended). Still, sometimes I still consider it, and I'm looking for advice on just what I'd need to get started. I'd be sticking to the streams and lakes in northern NJ to southern NY state. I'm not looking for super-high quality gear, I'd probably only use it a few times a year. I'm a firm believer that the fish doesn't care what's on your end of the line, so as long as your tackle is up to the challenge of landing the fish it's not going to help you catch fish.

I know I'd need a rod,reel, and line. Also waders, boots and a vest. What would all that end up costing me? Is there anything else I'd definitely need?

How about flies? Buy them or tie them? What do you need to tie your own?
Erik

Re: Beginners Fly-Fishing Gear

Post by Erik »

When it comes to fly fishing, the rod is the most important. For the fishing you're going to do, the reel isn't much more than storage for the line, so you can get away with a cheaper reel, but the rod really needs to be good quality, or fishing with it will be a pain.
I think if you go into a good fishing store, and tell them what you need, they will probably be able to tell you what an appropriate gear for that area is. Try to find a smaller store, close to the fiching areas, they will know what others are using.

I'd go with a class 5 gear, with a floating WF line. If you want to, you can get a second spool with sinking line, if you feel you are going to fish deep.