My current LP record collection

Everything cultural, pop or otherwise. Books, movies, music, comics, poetry, random cultural geekery.
Joe ex PNG

My current LP record collection

Post by Joe ex PNG »

As I mentioned in my intro post, I've become quite the fan of music played properly- on LP records. And, in the past few months since aquiring a turntable, have begun the fun hobby of prowling antique shops for 60's and 70's rock- which is ironically cheaper than downloading from I-tunes, or buying CD's. Not that I have the massive multi-hundred titles of someone collecting since '62, but I'm new at this (and poor).

A selection in no real order:
Yes- 'Close to the Edge' (a real find at $1)
Fleetwood Mac- 'Mystery to Me'
Emerson, Lake, & Palmer- 'The Best of...'
The Who- 'Live at Leeds' & 'Tommy'
Traffic- 'The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys'
Alan Parsons Project- 'I, Robot'
Jethro Tull- 'Thick as a Brick'
The Police- 'Synchronicity'
The Blues Brothers- 'Made in America'
Chicago- 'Greatest Hits'
The Beatles- 1967-1970 'Blue album'
CCR- 'Creedence Gold'
ZZ Top- 'The Best of'
Stevie Wonder- 'Original Musicquarium'

and a couple of jazz recordings...
The Quintet- Jazz at Massey Hall
The Oscar Peterson Trio- 'Affinity'

And some classical:
Phillippe Entremont doing Debussy's Clair de Lune
Herbert Von Karajan's Berlin Philharmonic performing the Adagio

And more to come in later weeks. Feel free to post about your collections.
Darrell

Re: My current LP record collection

Post by Darrell »

Lots of old Yes, lots of old Genesis (heck, back before they told Phil Collins to shut up and play the damn drums, some before he even belonged to the band), lots of old Emerson, Lake and Palmer, lots of old Neil Young... I have over 500 LPs, haven't played them in years. My old stereo blew up years ago, never replaced it. I still have my turntable, though.
Eppur si muove--Galileo
Joe ex PNG

Post by Joe ex PNG »

I do so envy you.
DougWojtowicz

Post by DougWojtowicz »