WTF

Discussions about our lives, families, jobs... things may get a little personal
Aesop

WTF

Post by Aesop »

After 40 years of gainful employment, going back to the 8th grade, and over 20 years as a licensed medical professional, I've finally achieved the unthinkable:

Some 20-something has accused me of some sort of conduct that may possibly be considered sexual harassment, the gist of which is that I may have bumped into her once in a 6-foot wide room, and talked to her as many as three times in the course of a 12-hour shift.

At best, it's pathetically wishful thinking on her part, and at worst, it's a flight of psychotic delusion, but while TPTB investigate, I am being benched (at a personal cost of +/- $600/day), and my personal and professional reputation has been impugned with both my current employer, and a hospital where I've been working, where it rose to the level of the Chief Nursing Officer before it was referred to my agency, who contacted me immediately for my side.

While it would be hilarious if it weren't so potentially serious, the first words to come to mind are "preposterous", "ridiculous", and "farcical", merely on the face.
The list of allegations would make far more sense if it were the ramblings of a patient hospitalized on a 72-hour mental health hold than as any sort of coherent description of actual misconduct, but nonetheless, here I sit instead of being at work tonight.

I've agreed with my direct employer not to contact the institution in question, which is fine with me anyways, and I've agreed to respond to the meandering letter of "J'accuse" by tomorrow midday.

But on second thought, I'm thinking a sit-down consult with legal counsel might be in my better interests.

And I'm astonished that I should even have to consider such.

Un-fucking-believable.
"There are four types of homicide: felonious, accidental, justifiable, and praiseworthy." -Ambrose Bierce, "The Devil's Dictionary"
Kommander

Re: WTF

Post by Kommander »